An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A Christmas Miracle...

Merry Christmas Everyone!  

The day started well....and got better as it went on.  Infact I would say this has been the best Christmas Day in ages!

A lazy morning for Alan.  He was full of they joys when David, Christine and I piled into his room just after 11am announcing he'd had enough of a lie in and it was time to get up and enjoy the day!  

Checked the stocking on the end of his bed.  Looked like Santa had been.  A glance under the trees (ours and Alan's :-) confirmed he had indeed been.  Wow, we've all been on the good list this year. 

Bacon rolls then pressie opening (priorities! ;-)

Last year we made too much noise and Alan banished up from his sitting room so he could open his pressies with Christine in peace.  This year, not only did he open all his pressies today, but we got to join him to open all our pressies, music playing, laughter and joy and Lola in seventh heaven with so much paper to tear up and chew.  She was so excited we've only given her a few of her gifts!  Will spread the rest out over the next few days.

My main pressie from David was a photography studio light box, but he took me completely by surprise by buying me a bracelet to match the memory keeper locket he bought me for our 30th Wedding Anniversary in August.  

The locket contains six photographs of family members and when I turned the bracelet over, on the inside all the names of the family members in my locket are engraved on the back.  I had a proper lump in throat moment.  If Christine hadn't been there I probably would have burst into tears.  Such a thoughtful gift.  I love it.  David has a new iPad and is very happy.  

It's been such a lovey day weather wise too.  D took Lola a lovey walk up on the moor and Alan and Christine went for a wander into town.  I stayed in the warmth and peace, full of good intentions of looking at a fab book David bought me (If you can Doddle you can Paint) but surprise, surprise, I dozed off!  

Woke up in time to make dinner though :-)  It was a triumph!  lol  Prawn cocktail (homemade sauce.  Retro ;-) beef fillet tenderloin wrapped in dijon mustard and parma ham, homemade Dauphinoise potatoes and peas, leeks and courgettes.  Salted caramel profiterole cheesecake for dessert.  I couldn't face that.  Even with a two hour gap after dinner!

Now relaxing and enjoying the rest of this lovely day before a busier day tomorrow, celebrating Ele's 60th birthday.  Wow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.