By The Book

The book of love is long and boring
No one can lift the damn thing.
It's full of facts and figures
And instructions for dancing.

But I love it
When you read to me.
And you can read me anything.

The book of love has music in it.
In fact that's where music comes from.
Some of it is just transcendental.
And some of it is just really dumb.

But I love it 
When you sing to me.
And you can sing me anything.

The book of love is long and boring.
And written very long ago.
It's full of flowers and heart-shaped boxes.
And things we're all too young to know.

But I love it 
When you give me things. 
And you ought to give me anything.

And I
I love it when you give me things.
And you
You ought to give me wedding rings.
You ought to give me wedding rings.

(Stephin Merrit, The Book Of Love )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.