Triangulation

For quite some time I've been using my 55-200 telephoto zoom and began to feel I was relying on it too much. So today I purposefully changed lenses to the 18-55, trying to stick to the wide end. I didn't want to just use it for wide landscapes, focusing instead on closer scenes, to get a different perspective.

In this frame the bright reeds on either side of the inlet caught my attention so I played around with viewpoints and different heights. I shot this from higher up looking down making the near objects look larger.

I liked that the triangular shape of the reeds on the right echoed that of the rock. The colour of the reeds also related to those on the other side. The three elements formed a triangle and I tried to not have the far reeds above the rock in the image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.