Day 2

It has been an interesting Day 2 of the December Adventure.

The day began with a short night flight to Athens at 01:15, which included a whirlwind Turkish breakfast. Fortunately it was on time - a little early in fact.  Immigration and baggage services played ball, and I was in my airport hotel soon after 2am (Athens is an hour behind Istanbul). 

Then after my second breakfast of the day - a very leisurely Greek one this time - in the hotel, came the metro trip into the city centre to find my Airbnb apartment. It is in the Koukaki neighbourhood, a short walk from the likes of the Acropolis but a tourist free zone. 

Apart from a short wander around to orientate myself before dark, I have made a point of doing as little as possible so as to recover from the travel followed by a night of 5 hours sleep. 

It was daylight until well after 5pm, which is ideal. It was sunny and 16⁰c in the middle of the day, so that was pretty good too. 

The short walk gave me my Blip. The Temple of Zeus, in the late afternoon sun. The Extra is Hadrian’s Gate, framing the Acropolis. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.