25th

Junior collected me at 9.30am, as arranged, and whisked me across the water to Edinburgh Airport. Public transport does not exist on 25th December - at least not around here. Other countries are less radicalised.

Check in took 5 minutes. Security took about the same. Of course the departures board showed only 5 flights. New York, Paris, Istanbul, Amsterdam or Somewherelse. Oh, and a cancelled flight to East Midlands, of all places. Almost all of the shops and food outlets were closed. 

Turkish Airlines left 10 minutes early and arrived in Istanbul a bit earlier than that. My festive lunch from the airline was köfte with rice and a chickpea stew. Delicious and not traditional. 

It is a normal working day here plus it is 3 hours ahead of Scotland, so it is a bit disorientating. I have a long wait until my flight to Athens - the downside of travelling today is that less flights means less convenient connections - and it will be 26th December by the time I get to my hotel.

The new airport in Istanbul is massive, so I had time to explore, eat again and find a Blip. In the end however, I chose a shot of the empty airport in Edinburgh.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.