25th

The Day has come and gone. 

It hasn’t quite gone according to plan, but it started well - a buffet breakfast with nothing else to do except relax and enjoy it. 

The next part of the plan was to get out in the fresh air and daylight to walk off the aforesaid buffet breakfast. Unfortunately the temperature had soared up to -1⁰c by daybreak, and the snow flurries turned to light rain.

I did go out for 90 minutes, but it was not exactly fun.  

The end result has been a very relaxing day and a lot of reading done. Ironically, had my visit been 24 hours later I could have been at an ice hockey game tonight and that would have been ideal. Naturally enough, there are no fixtures on the 25th. 

By British standards the city centre is positively buzzing, although I suspect that is mostly down to (1) tourists en route to/from Lapland and (2) locals heading home by train/bus. 

Highlights? 

The breakfast, of course. 

The walk in the rain, of course.

As for what the rest of the UK gets up to today, for lunch I had a tuna & beetroot sandwich, sour cream and onion crisps, and a cranberry/lemongrass drink, all conveniently sourced at the mini market across the street.

At dinner time it was Fafa’s for Middle Eastern Holy Land food. Totally delicious. 

Turkey? Don’t make me laugh. 

Early start tomorrow - my flight is at 10:15. I have to fit in another massive buffet breakfast plus the train to the airport before then. 

The Blip is the harbour - or marina at least - at Pohjoissatama. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.