Helsinki

The holiday has begun. 

The first part was a morning flight to Helsinki. Finnair left Edinburgh early, and arrived a wee bit early too. No drones. No air traffic problems. No weather problems.

On the other hand, sunset here was 15:15 and with the 2 hour time difference, it was a very short “day” for me - 4.5 hours of daylight.

The other shock to the system has been the temperature. It was -12⁰c when we got off the plane at 14:30 - see Extras. I’d forgotten how that kind of cold feels. I was expecting it, and thought I had all the right clothes… 

After dinner I went for a walk over to the harbour at Kauppatori, hoping for fresh air, a bit of exercise and a Blip. Well, it was too cold to take my gloves off for very long, but I got a few shots. The Blip is Sofiankatu looking very festive, and the other Extra is the cathedral.  

Note to self:- wear two hats next time.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.