Bo-Kaap

I feel very lucky to be in Cape Town during the holidays. During the morning I explored a small area, Bo-Kaap, which is the oldest surviving neighbourhood and the cradle of Cape Malay culture. Men leant out of open doorways talking Arabic on their phones and the only establishments open on Christmas Day were Muslim-run stores with names like ‘Fatima Shop’. With a worsening drizzle the weather was what I would describe as ‘England in October’, so it defeated me and sent me back to the hotel. A homeless person crashed out on the pavement with a brick for a pillow was a stark reminder of people’s differing experiences of Christmas.

I then called home like a dutiful son and watched cherished family members open presents I’d sent. Although thanks must go to my dad for receiving and wrapping all the items, including his own John Crace book.

An old work pal from Cambridge, Erin, moved to Cape Town a few years ago with her boyfriend Marc, and they invited me over in the afternoon for a Christmas tipple. It was very kind of them and the other friends who had assembled to welcome me with open arms. We ate, drank, chatted and were merry. We mostly drank negronis, bubbly and ale, and the other activities got a look-in occasionally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.