Lazy blip...

I'm behind on comments but I'll catch up eventually; too much partying the past two days! :))  Meanwhile, a lazy blip taken out the front window, as I liked the reflection of the tree on the windshield of the car. Late last night I received a text from my cousin that her mom had passed away. This isn't my aunt who recently was moved to the assisted living facility--it's my aunt's and my mom's youngest brother's wife, Lucy. Lucy had a Doctorate in Child Psychology, and she and my Uncle Bob, who has, though long retired, a Doctorate in Social Psychology, were both loving, outgoing people who took a year's sabbatical every 4 years and traveled the world.  She developed Alzheimer's Disease about 4 years ago and had really been declining in the past 6 months. It's so hard to watch a loving, vibrant person gradually lose their memory, then speech, then the ability to walk and the ability to even eat. My uncle cared for her at home until this past Sept., when she was transferred to a care facility. He visited her every single day (he's 88, as was she), even though she didn't recognize him. They'd been together for 70 years, & he was with her when she passed. It will be hard for him, so I'm glad that he has a lot of golf buddies who will keep an eye on him and make sure he's doing okay. He lives in Arizona & his children are in Washington & Missouri, although they've all been really wonderful about flying down frequently to help out, & I'm sure they'll continue to do that.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.