twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Awake at 0550 and present opening and breakfast ensued thereafter. 

Them lads set about trying everything at least once (see extra of Tom on the new wheels)

Come 11 we shaped up to head out in to a gorgeous day. The lads went off to their mum's for more presents and food, I went to see Her for half a glass of prosecco and a mince pie.

An hour later I was back on the bike, resplendent in the new jaikit and going to Hermiston to meet the older bruv who was then transporting me to the folks where 3 of the 4 bros and a couple of SILs, a niece, the nephew and the niece's lad made up the dozen. 

The usual. Presents, (gloves - I must try and not lose the right one inside 3 weeks) and champagne and smoked salmon. Some light kitchen duties then 2 hours of gluttony. 
By now darkness had fallen. 
After Twinned with Trumpton came Trumpton itself. The recently departed Iain and Bob and I decided that we should go the whole hog and actually declare Braco to be Trumpton. So we snaffled 3 signs from... I remember one was Madderty kinda way. Possibly Ashfield was another? Tullibardine might have been the final one.

And spent Christmas eve 1994 in the shed putting the finishing touches to 3 Trumpton signs. 
Come 2am we headed out to put them up. Sadly the church elder JD was out and about ahead of the service and by midday they were down. Boo!

So 25 years later to the day I figured what better way to remember Iain than to reprise the TWT strapline.  

Sadly the masking tape proved non stick on the road signs and the stencil didn't really sit close enough to the sign. Still given it was short notice it'll need to do. But something to go back and do properly. Stevo kindly provided inspiration for a more permanent and crafted response. I think I need to do this and do it properly. 

Anyhow, suitably frozen I went back for Christmas cake and to do the dishes ( as hoped, someone else beat me to it, oh well)

Away at 9, Embra 10 and in before 11. Straight to sleep, the smell of Kobra black paint still discernible on my fingers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.