Garden globe

I had to dash out and buy a book for a meeting tomorrow, so I looked up Waterstones online. They have a handy stock-checker and I could see that the book I needed was at my nearest shop. I skipped over to Covent Garden and soon had the book in hand. It's a good blend of online and bricks-and-mortar shopping that made my life easier. Take that, Amazon! With the demise of HMV, I'm feeling sorry for the high street. During the Christmas break, I had the urge to buy The Lord of the Rings box set, but didn't know where to go. I visited HMV on Oxford Street and there it was. Hurray! I've since discovered that I could have bought it in Sainsbury's for £5 (I didn't think to buy DVDs at the supermarket). However, I don't go to HMV (or the big supermarket) often, but buy my media online. If I go to a record shop, it's usually Rough Trade East or Fopp, not the giant shops.

Anyway, that was a long ramble when I only meant to talk about the bauble. It's on a street in Covent Garden, along with all the other Christmas decorations that haven't been taken down. I enjoyed trying to find a bauble with a good reflection.

Work became tremendously busy by the end of the day, with a serious discussion about the punctuation around ellipses. By the time I left, I knew I'd be late for the Feast meeting, but I leapt into the middle of the session, mulled cider in hand, and brainstormed. We're looking for a new name for the Gardening hub, which is expanding to include fresh food (fruit, veg, honey, jam, and possibly meat) for the Feast this year. We quite like "fresh and green" and "grow and cook", but neither are quite right. John's suggestion of "big fork, little fork" is brilliant, but we'd have to explain what it means. The brains are still storming. You can probably see the steam rise from between my ears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.