Walking on the land

Woodpeckers and I went out for a walk before our Christmas meal, though  my sister Rosie stayed at home. We went through the new cemetery and across the old Horns road and up into the old cemetery, which has lovely walks around the hillside through patches of woodland. It isn't used as a cemetery unless families with relatives want their loved ones to be buried together.

I chatted to J., who is a neighbour from our road, about the old Chapel of Rest and updated her on the possible plans the Preservation Trust is putting in place. she is very active in the local community which is concerned to retain a good level of access to the site of the chapel as it is an important focus for many local people.

Woodpeckers wandered off along one of the footpaths towards the head of the Horns valley. I caught up with her and sat down on a bench beside the path to look out across the Golden Valley. The sun was directly in front of us which made photography challenging but I thought I'd have a go. We noticed this group of people and their dog wondering what they were doing. 

After I took this picture it became apparent when one of them brought out a small receptacle and they scattered some ashes on the ground sloping down in front of them.

I haven't tried to remove the flares in my image as I rather like the effect. I have no idea why there is a dab of solid green light at the end of the left hand ray landing at the edge of the path.

We continued to walk slowly around the cemetery and then back home (which is only about three hundred yards away down the hill) and I was pleased to find that my recent new hip didn't hurt at all. Lunch was simple and delightful as we avoided traditional fare, ate what we wanted and in relatively small quantities. I think we all felt better for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.