Brave Birds


Usually I take pictures of the birds at our bird-feeders from inside the kitchen, looking through the window and using full zoom on my Lumix TZ100. This works but really I'm a bit far away and the window glass probably isn't optically perfect either.
I noticed recently that when I'm putting out new food that some birds arrive and perch in the branches, only a few feet from me. So today, after putting out new food, I waited around, about 3 metres from the feeders and the blue tits swiftly returned. They flew off as soon as I raised the camera but then returned quickly.
Taking pictures this way I can vary the background more. I'm still using a fair amount of  zoom but not full zoom, and there's no window glass in the way.

This seems to be the way forward. Maybe a little closer next time...

PS Many thanks for all the generous comments, stars and hearts for my Christmas Day blip of the house seen through snowy branches. I think this is the first time I've ever made it to page 1 of the Populars so once again, a big thank-you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.