Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

All My Own Work!

This is Iz, the Senior Grandaughter. She has a lot to put up with when we all get together. The Senior Grandson is the strong, silent type who slopes off into a quiet corner to get on with his own stuff, Lego and Pokemon, and Iz is left to try to mediate the lunacy of the three younger girls.  

Today, however, she and I sneaked off into my workroom, switched on all the heaters and I gave her a conducted tour of (some of) my vintage sewing machines. She's very interested in making, as well as sailing, and she's just joined the local hockey club. 

I was very impressed by how quickly she got the hang of using one of the old Singers. The foot control is not the easiest.  But her seams were pretty straight, and she managed a cushion for her teddy with ease, and I only had to step in to replace a broken needle and to stitch up the opening where she put the stuffing in. Our hands were too cold by then to face trying to do that by hand. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.