Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

It’s not just food bargains I’m on the lookout for

Most will associate me as a yellow label aficionado, on the look out for quality food and vegetables at reduced prices as they are at or near their sell by/use by dates. But I don’t limit myself to food and vegetables. On Black Friday I bought 30 bare rooted perennials at £4.99 saving £44.91.

Well today it was bright and mild so I decided to pot up the perennials: it is doubtful if they would survive if planted directly into the garden at this time of year and they will be transplanted after making some growth in the cold greenhouse in late April. I had enough pots but needed compost so a trip into Stirling was required. First stop was B&Ms. There was no compost on sale but their packs of Spring flowering bulbs were all reduced to 50p: an offer I could not resist. I got the compost at B&Qs; not the cheapest store to buy it but I was desperate to get home and get my buys planted. (Be warned, B&Q’s computer system favours the store and does not like to automatically give buyers offers and savings. I bought 2 bags of orchid compost reduced to 50p each but price at till was full price until I got the assistant to correct it: same with buy 2 get one free - you are charged for 3 unless you point this error out to the assistant!!!! (Makes me angry that sale prices and discounts not given automatically at B&Qs).
Before potting up the perennials it was up to the allotment where today’s buys were planted in the outside borders: they will give a great show in the spring before the wild flowers that are planted there come into flower. I also planted the two packs of winter onion sets I bought at Dobbies (reduced from £3:99 to £1).and 69 tulips and 24 Alliums purchased for £3 ( a saving of £27 ). After the allotments it was home to pot up the perennials and after doing all this there was unfortunately no time for the gym at the Peak!!

Just a word about Thomson and Morgan’s: they seem to get quite a few bad reviews but this is not my experience. The perennials, tulips and Alliums were purchased from them and they were of high quality and received quickly and in excellent condition after purchase.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.