Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Lines

I'm spending a couple of nights in Berkeley with a couple we've been friends with since our kids were in kindergarten together. The wife and I joined another friend for a trip to the de Young museum in San Francisco for an exhibit called, "Nureyev: a Life of Dance". (You might be able to make it out on the window at the top of the stairs).

The de Young Museum has been in Golden Gate Park forever. When it was found not to meet the Field Act (earthquake) standards, something had to be done. Much controversy ensued between the traditionalists, who wanted to retrofit the old museum, and the modernists who wanted to tear down the old building and build a new museum with more exhibit space and off street parking. After years of civic discussion, and large donations from several prominent families, the modernists won, a prominent architect was chosen and the new building was constructed. My friend's daughter's comment was that it "looked like a prison with a guard tower".

I took a picture which confirms (in my mind as well)
her sentiments, but decided on this one, because it illustrates why I love the inside as much as I dislike the outside. Although I couldn't get a good indoor shot with my iPhone, I chose this one because it shows up but a few of the interesting lines and vistas within the forbidding exterior.

It was one of those days when I had an embarrassment of pictures to choose from and contrarily chose the most abstract one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.