Tyne Bridge Mural

Today our sons1&2 (and the partner of Son#2) left us to go their separate ways after spending a lovely week with us. So as two different trains were involved I made 2 car trips to the station to give them a lift with their luggage. (Son#3 lives in Newcastle so he wasn't involved in this.)

On the first trip I noticed this mural on a wall near the station (I've spotted it before but seeing it again reminded me I had in mind to blip it one day). So on the 2nd trip I took my camera. Getting a good shot was tricky as a result of trees in front of it, so this is a stitched vertical panorama with its perspective tweaked in Photoshop (I wanted to include the Newcastle crest as well.)

The mural is hardly in the first flush of youth but I rather like it. My (very patient) Editor who was with me noticed that it's designed rather like a ship. Lower down the wall is the crest of Newcastle upon Tyne with the motto "Fortiter Defendit Triumphans" ('Triumphing by Brave Defence') which will be well-known to fans of Newcastle United FC but which is also well known to me as it forms the chorus of my school song which we used to sing every Prize-Giving Day and which is still sung at old boys' reunions.

I've tried to find more info about the mural on Google, but so far I've failed in that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.