RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Flamingos

Today was all about finding flamingos, for which this part of the Yucatán is famous. We didn't drive the hour and half to Celestun, where tens of thousands of flamingos spend the winter (the original snow bird I guess), because there was nothing else to see near there. Instead, we headed due north to Progreso with the hope of seeing flamingos in the wetlands on both sides of this beach community. We had great success even though they were quite a distance from our land based observation in the small town of Chelem. We also saw others as we drove the coast road to more ruins, but there were no good pull out spots to stop the car (though if I had really been channeling my Mexican self, I would have stopped in the road with my flashers on and taken photos anyway). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.