skelfs

By tfb

A curious growth

I observed this rather curious growth on some structures I was investigating.  It appears to be gelatinous (I did not touch it).  It did not appear to change while I watched, but I am sure that the area covered grew when I was looking at other things.  It seems to be slowly eating at the underlying structure.  So far it is only on the wreckage, but I think it can only be a matter of time before it spreads: there appear to be various tendrils, some of which may have caught and partly absorbed some small animals which wandered too close.  Perhaps 'digested' or 'transformed' would be more approrpriate:  I did not look closely as some of the poor things it had caught were still moving, and it was clearly not safe to try and rescue them.

I plan to set up a time-lapse camera to photograph it as I suspect it is aware when it is being watched by a sentient being: I hope it will not be so aware of a mere automatic process.

I took this picture yesterday, but I think it is important enough to record today.  My hope is that, if anything happens to me, while my own library of photographs & documents will disappear, perhaps the little I have published here may survive to provide clues for others to follow and, perhaps, a warning not to do as I have done.  I expect it will not be long now: I hear them whispering outside the door almost every night.  In the morning there are curious scratches on the door: more each day.  The cat refuses to leave the house now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.