skelfs

By tfb

Nicotine & tar

We had a tenant who, sadly, died in August.

It turns out that he had not stopped smoking (this is probably related to the whole dying thing), and now we are trying to make his house vaguely habitable. When you wash the walls with sugar soap the water ends up brown, and nicotine & tar leach out of the paintwork to drip down the walls.

We're making progress, but think we may need to simply give up and nuke the site from orbit. Most of England would be uninhabitable for a few generations but that seems like a reasonable price to pay: I mean, how long before climate change does for it anyway? Australia looks like it has a few years at most.

(I know I know: nuking people is wrong, and climate change is a giant conspiracy made up by green communist hippy chinese russian academics. Coal is the future I tell you, coal! Also, obviously, I wouldn't want to waste my only remaining gadget on something this minor: when the configuration of the solar neighbourhood becomes right and those that already scrape at the borders of our consciousness break through in their full terrible reality, then will it be needed. I haven't nursed it for all these years just to waste it: I only hope it will be enough.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.