SSA

Stunning South Africa.

I’m staying at an old hotel with a good old-fashioned Afrikaans name (Houw Hoek) in the hills up from the coast, which claims to be the oldest licensed hotel in South Africa, built in 1779. The location is stunning amongst the dramatic hills just over a high pass (see extra), and I imagine it was once a welcome rest stop for weary travellers.

A lot of South African families are on the move over Christmas time. As I stepped out of my room this morning, a family of four was being wholesome in a rowing boat on a pond at the base of the hill. I felt like I was in the Sound of Music.

I drove to Hermanus on the coast, which is known for its whale watching. The cliff pathways are stunning, so I spent a few hours being awed and wandering around seeing mongooses and baby dassies dart away from me. I slotted in a visit to Kleinmond, another beachside location where everyone was cavorting in a lagoon (see second extra).

I’m not getting sick of the beauty of South Africa, any time soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.