Wah!

3 months 2 days

For the purposes of balance,  so you don’t get the impression that Euan is the easiest baby ever, this is him today post playtime and pre nap when he wouldn’t give in.  He has fierce lungs!  As I write it is late afternoon and the toughest part of the day, so Mum and Dad are considering a trip to Home Depot to keep him going till bath time.  A couple of hours is an eternity in baby time.

It’s been a foul day with showers of sleet coming through and a bitter wind, but I took some time out to take my postcards to the Post Office and get some air, albeit wintry.  Salem was just about empty of folks but the scene in the Post Office was Something out of an Alan Bennett play.  Two tired looking PO people behind the counter and a queue of six before me.  There was the older woman with the small but fragile present who had come without anything to send it in or anything to fasten up the very large box she had chosen.  Then she had to dig in to her very large bag for the address.  Next was the young woman with some complicated ID issue which no one could understand and resulted in both postie folks coming in and out of doors at the back for several minutes looking nonplussed.  I was so fed up by this time that I took to counting the large number of envelopes the guy in front of me was carrying...43.  Next in line were two women collecting items.  They had little English and the wrong ID, so there was more entering and leaving doors before they were passed along to a supervisor and then back again because he didn’t have a scanner....another customer, who knew the woman behind the counter, so they had a lovely chat for a while before she recalled why she had come in to the post office and brought several bits of paper out of her bag to be dealt with.  Finally there was just the guy with 43 envelopes and me, and we had lost one of the postie people, how long were 43 envelopes going to take....he just handed them across the counter and that was it, yay!  Three stamps later and I was out of there.  I reckoned I earned my gingerbread latte from the Brew Box before heading back in the wind and sleet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.