Secret Santa strikes twice

I decided to end 2019 in the way I want 2010 to go; I went for a brisk walk along the full length of Ponsonby Road, and back. On the way back I went past a corner section around which builder's boards have been erected preparatory to a new development on what is now bare land. It had been a small plant shop. Phantom Billstickers have got the rights to put advertising on the fence, and in the meantime are displaying an unusual artwork. I've posted my photo of it as today's final extra for the year.

Midday we went out to Swanson to daughter C's home and had a "Kiwi Christmas", as the young Tsukens call the family get together during their annual summer visit. Present "exchange" has become a "Secret Santa" process, and this is great fun. Especially when Tsuken and his son were recipients of the same book. 

The young master wasn't quite sure how to deal with it. Perhaps his uncertainty was contributed to by the order of receipt I had suggested when no one was able to decide the order. My suggestion was oldest first followed by youngest then second oldest followed by second youngest. The younger Tsuken is second youngest who was followed by third eldest; his father, who proceeded to unwrap the identical book he had just unwrapped, amid great hilarity and a photo opportunity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.