Hogmanay sunset 2019

It's been a beautiful day. Frosty, clear, sunny and bright. After all the partying of the last few days today has been a chance to start sorting out the Christmas clutter, have a friend in for coffee, walk to Lidl and generally do a bit of routine stuff.

The blip is sunset looking towards the Trossachs taken with a long lens from the bedroom window. I've added an extra of the crescent moon because I'm sure I've never blipped the moon before. The forecast is for it to get colder till about 9pm and then for the temperature to rise a bit.

I'm not a big Hogmanay person. I find it has a tendency to be overly, and unhelpfully, introspective. But we do need ways of marking the passage of time and New Year is certainly a marker. I think a lot of the old traditions have lost their hold. There's no black bun in this house for first footers though I would always offer a warm welcome to visitors. Tonight, for the first time in about 15 years, we've got tickets for the castle and will be going up there about 10pm with friends. There will be music followed by fireworks. I imagine we'll be home by 12:30 having welcomed 2020.

However, or indeed if, you're seeing in the New Year I wish you an enjoyable time and a happy, healthy 2020.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.