A day in the life

By Shelling

The end. And new beginnings.

Here we are, at the end of a decade, peeking into the next. A lot has happened in the old one and many things will change in the new one, more or less like from one year to another, from a day to the next, from this second to the new one. Of course the urge to sum up is more apparent on a day like today. Tomorrow I have reached my goal for this year, to blip and make a note in my journal about the day, my feelings or some info concerning the time and place. Tomorrow I'll spend some time reading my own writing through the year.

I expect to continue my journal next year and I would like to thank all of you who gave me encouragement and purpose to continue my writing. I've  felt seen and listened to and also feel I have come closer to many of you, by me hitherto unknown people, in many places of this world. You have made my life richer by sharing your thoughts and I look forward to hearing more about your everyday life.

We had a lovely sunny day today and my cold allowed me to go for quite a long walk along the beach on the east coast of my island. I thought I found a nice blip containing enough symbolism to close the year. The symbolism works best in Swedish though. Backlight in Swedish is "motljus", literary 'against light' or rather 'towards light'. It was also quite windy so the footsteps in the sand got wiped out quickly, leaving a new surface to put your own footprint on top of the old ones put there by others. You get the picture! It's simply a brilliant metafor for the transition into a new era. ;-)

I wish you all an interesting time with an option of change, if that's what you want. All the best tomorrow and onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.