End of an era

Happy New year! I wish all joys and happiness to everyone, with profound and grateful thanks for the companionship that this community so generously gives. Blipfoto is unique as the kindest, safest place to share. So sharing I am. Today brings to a close the year, the decade, my seventh year of daily Blips, and also, the last full year of my teaching career. A decision taken a while ago, but made a reality only yesterday in the writing of a letter, I will be retiring at the end of this academic year. Twenty two years of teaching music and art to Turkish teenagers at this wonderful school in Istanbul (having previously taught for many years in Essex, UK), it's time to put down my board marker and baton, and go play my own tune.  Haven't decided yet whether I will be playing mostly in Istanbul, Akbuk or Chelmsford - but I love the fact that it's a decision I don't have to make, at least, not yet. First, I have to grow accustomed to crying and laughing simultaneously. 

Today's pic is a multi layered image, views through and reflected in my bedroom window, Deanery garden, and road signs that collectively define the priorities that will influence my decisions in the coming months.

Public health warning: random, philosophical borderline pretentious blipfoto entries, self indulgent visual and verbal images, and ad hoc weird stuff are now all on the radar as potential blip entires as I settle in to the reality of the decision I have mulled over for a while, and finally, officially taken. Apologies in advance.  Happy New Year and decade folks !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.