"Gather Ye Rosebuds While Ye May"

Nice dogwalk with my daughter today. My granddaughter wasn't well enough to accompany us. I hope she recovers in time to meet her friends to see the New Year in.

Someone had stuck roses in the boardwalk over the lake, we presume in memory of a person who liked to fish from here. My pic shows Frankie dog checking a bloom out.

This New Year's Eve, with Father Time looking over my shoulder, this rose got me thinking of Thomas Herrick's, "To The Virgins, To Make The Most Of Time."

"Gather ye rose-buds while ye may,
Old Time is still a-flying;
And this same flower that smiles today
Tomorrow will be dying.

The glorious lamp of heaven, the sun,
The higher he’s a-getting,
The sooner will his race be run,
And nearer he’s to setting.

That age is best which is the first,
When youth and blood are warmer;
But being spent, the worse, and worst
Times still succeed the former.

Then be not coy, but use your time,
And while ye may, go marry;
For having lost but once your prime,
You may forever tarry."

I wish I'd gathered more rose-buds.

Then I thought of Auld Lang Syne

"We twa hae run about the braes,
and pou'd the gowans fine;"

and

"We twa hae paidl'd in the burn,
frae morning sun till dine;"

I wish I'd run about the slopes picking daisies and paddled in the stream in the sunshine all day.

Carpe diem blippers. Happy New Year! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.