Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

So here we are!

Feeling just the same as yesterday - just more tired than usual this morning!

I did go downtown with my friend from across the lake.. We put my prepared and delicious hot mulled wine into thermos mugs and set off down the hill, catching a bus on the way!

My daughter was already in the centre with a group of friends and they were all wearing coloured earphones with music taking part in something called 'Silent Disco'!  You have a choice of music and everyone was dancing and bobbing around to different kinds of music that nobody else could hear!  I was lent the earphones and did a bit of bobbing myself! Ridiculous!

We went up to the Cathedral Esplanade with hundreds (thousands?) of other folk and waited for the bells to ring at midnight and for everyone to cheer and shout Happy New Year!  I sent mobile messages to my son in Canada, my daughter bobbing in another part of town and my grandson out with a group of pals down in Ouchy (where the lake is).

The pyjamas bus home didn't work as we'd missed the 12.30 am one and the next was an hour later!  So we took a taxi home to be in bed by 1.30 am! Whew!

I was up at 6.30 am again this morning. Internal body clock never switches off! Oh well! It was fun!  My daughter has yet to send a couple of pictures of us which I'll put up later!

I don't think I'll be doing this every year, but I enjoyed it this year! It wasn't even too cold with a temperature of +2C (35.6F).

Did you celebrate the arrival of 2020 - or did you go to bed at your usual time to be bright and perky this morning?!

Photo: The big illuminated tower of Lausanne Cathedral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.