Production

What a strange day. I remarked in yesterday's blip that the ash and smoke fron the Australian fires has drifted across the Tasman.

Today has been darker than usual with a sepia wash to the light. Thanks to the smoke particles it's been cloudy and a cooler 30+ degrees instead of mid-30s.

Not great gardening weather except that the lack of wind made it an ideal day to build the soil in one section of garden at the front. I kept my fluids up but after 3+ hours I was shattered.

I felt better after a cool shower and now I'm hanging out on the sofa.

There's more of a breeze now and a definite whiff of smoke. Earlier I noticed that an external house wall I can see from the sofa looks an apricot colour. It should be off-white. Trees 1-2 km away look hazy like they're in fog.

Our experience is but a minor taste of what thousands of Australiasn are enduring.

My raised vege garden is producing well. The tomatoes are fruiting, I'm just keeping up with zucchini production, and another round of spinach and letruce. The parsley and basil are strong and growing.

I'm nodding off so it's off to bed for me, Happy new year.

Today's gratitude: For the the smell of thyme in my garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.