Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Journeys

Railway journeys were not a big part of my youth, indeed I was thirteen  before I traveled on the mainline, rather than heritage tracks.

That first journey began here, at Prestatyn, and it was something of an adventure as the Welsh junior orienteering squad headed north to the edge of the Moray Firth at Forres to compete in that year's Junior Home International. The journey home was even more of an experience, delays leaving Inverness meant that by the time we reached Crewe there were no connecting services to North Wales, so we were left to occupy ourselves in the station through the small hours until the milk train came to our rescue.

Today, both TransPennine Express and Transport for Wales were kind enough to bestow cancelled services upon me as I made my way home to my Mum's for a couple of days. Brother #1 eased things at the other end by collecting me at Prestatyn and giving me a lift to Denbigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.