Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Clinker

When I first peeped out of the window before sun up it was promising to be a snowy day, but most of what had fallen soon melted in the sunshine.

I thought I might find a bit more on higher ground, so headed up to the top of the moor but there was only a sprinkling left. The tops of Rombalds Moor a couple of miles away looked quite white  though. This view looks across the Dobrudden clinker mound (old colliery waste fused through burning) toward Bingley and Morton moors and Rivock Edge.

There was a not a lot of bird life about but I did see a couple of small flocks of Lapwing near Weecher.

I’m back in my own for a few days before New Year so I’m trying to motivate myself to engage with some overdue household chores, but I ended up treating today more like one of my solitary self-care Sundays: lazy breakfast with a book, long walk on the moor and an afternoon movie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.