WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

A Clean Sweep!

A beautiful sunny morning to start off 2020!

I left Frank snoozing in bed and after my first coffee had to rescue the stove. It was nearly out but I got it going again. However in the process a load of smoke and dust billowed out into the boat! Well, I was going to have a good clean anyway - I always get the urge on January 1st. So all the rugs were given a good beating outside and then I damp dusted everywhere and cleaned the floors. All ship shape for the new year - until Bella has a good shake!

Bella May was a bit fragile last night as the odd firework started going off early evening. She was petrified and looking for somewhere to hide - there isn't really anywhere on a narrowboat. We were getting ready to go to The Club House for the New Year party. Normally Bella would stay on the boat but we decided to take her with us. She enjoyed being made a fuss of and lay mostly under the table getting crisps slipped to her by a few people.
The band was really loud though and I could tell it wasn't her cuppa tea so at 10.30 I took her home and stayed with her. Frank appeared a while later and we saw the New Year in,  just the three of us all cosy. Frank had a whisky and I had ginger wine.

This morning I was watching Australia burn on the news. It's heartbreaking to see the devastation. People have lost everything - in some cases their lives. Not to mention the poor animals. 
Climate change must be highest on the agendas! It has been ignored for so long and hasn't been taken seriously.

I got an extra Christmas gift today - my Blipfoto full membership! Well it's not exactly an extra. The story behind this is that I had asked Santa for a double ukulele case but when it came it was massive and once the 2 ukes were in there along with music books etc it was far too heavy and cumbersome for me to carry so we sent it back. Instead Frank has paid for Blipfoto and some other things I needed :-)

The extra is of the band last night - BD23 - they were all in their seventies and played 60's music - they were FAB! The lead guitarist played Telstar! 

New Year Resolutions - hmmm - I'll let you know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.