Cheap and cheerful

I'm starting the year off with an emergency Blip! I did take a couple of pictures of the fireworks last night - we have a close grandstand view from the patio door when the display is in McCaig's Tower - but they were hopeless. A five second exposure handheld through a glass door is unlikely to be a success!

I've been working outside on the glasshouse base this morning and it's a pretty dull day, so decided to Blip this little coffee set.

I bought this tray and six cups in an antique shop in Thames Ditton, Surrey, on my way to work one day many years ago - probably around 1966-67. I'm not sure what they're made of - papier maché or similar? They're very light. I assume that they were made for the tourist market as on the base of the cups is stamped 'Made in Japan'. Whatever their origin, I think they're beautiful.

The set cost me £1.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.