Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Do You Remember?

...the panic? The freak out! The doomsayers? It seems like more than 20 years ago. Y2K!! Think about how far technology has come since then. It’s pretty mind-boggling. The photo might be recognizable to many: it’s the celebration in Sydney, Australia.

I had the presence of mind when I lived in Maryland to run out really early to buy a Washington Post newspaper. There was other major front page news that day. Boris Yeltsin resigned and Putin rose to power. His ascension concerned intelligence agencies but warranted little coverage. Check the extras for more 1 January 2000 news.

I have this newspaper as well as a Baltimore Sun and Washington Times from 9/11. I wasn’t quick enough for a Post plus it was a pretty scary day to live near major military bases and a nuclear power plant.

So here’s a mom story that should make you smile.
One day, she’s reading what I thought was the Green Valley News when she turned to me and said, “I really need to read the paper more often. There’s a lot of stuff going on!” You’d be right if you’re guessing it wasn’t the Green Valley News. Apparently she had been exploring and found my archived papers which were in a sealed, blue plastic bag.

I know it’s already January 2 in the rest of the world but I still have 45 minutes. Best wishes from the desert southwest for a healthy, happy and prosperous new year. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.