Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Spots and Shadows

A walk along Ipanema, a walk along Copacabana, lunch in Manoel and Joaquim of grilled garlic prawns and chips.

We then popped up to check out the roof terrace of the Pestana Hotel as we've recommend it to guests in the past as a nice place to have a drink and enjoy the view of the classic Copacabana sweep of beaches. We were very disappointed by the general upkeep of the place. It probably wasn't helped by the fact that it's just after the new year celebrations, but the bar looked messy and unkept, the beach beds and chairs looked shabby and there was nothing that was inviting except the view! We'll be taking it off our recommendations list. Popped into the Hotel Mirador as this was where I stayed when I ran a course here in 2008 and we always go in and say hello to the man who looks after the pool and bar on the rooftop terrace. Lovely welcome as usual and, despite it not being on the front or having as many stars as the Pestana, it was much better kept and had a nicer atmosphere in general. We'll go back one day for a drink and a seat by the pool.

For the record, we had lunch in Le Vin yesterday on the 1st Jan.

My blip's of a shop display in Ipanema. I like polka dots as they remind me of my first long dress I got when I was a teenager for a school dance!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.