On an old fencepost

Woke this morning to the sound of rain. Forecast predicted heavy rain possibly clearing a little this afternoon. Early on I was engaged in trying to get a decent photo of an Australian magpie on the lawn out from the house where we are staying. Initially, it was behind objects more than not, but with patience I got a few reasonable photos. Unfortunately the light was such that they lacked the clarity of what I have ended up blipping.

The weather began to improve mid-morning, and I went for a jog along the road. Lots to see. A field full of sweet corn. Pukeko (the same group that I saw last night) close to the stream where they ran as I stopped to look. Many small birds, which could not be identified. A large stock yard which looks very disused; long grass and wildflowers in each of the pens; the wood of the fences is very weatherbeaten; the loading ramps look totally abandoned.

Finally one cock sparrow sat long enough on the top of a post that I was able to take a good photo.

This afternoon we went to the Bridal Veil Waterfall. The children enjoyed the walk in native bush, and were impressed by the splendour of the height of the waterfall. They good humouredly indulged parental and grandparental desires for photos, and I've posted one of the four youngsters as an extra for today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.