TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

The end of days

Tui, the more dominant of our two cats, has a strange way of communicating her every need. Finally, I have it captured in an image. She's quite simply possessed.

I am beginning to realize just how trite these blips are at the moment. 

In 1997, to get over a messy separation, I left my then home in New Zealand, flew to Australia, and then hired a car to drive from Melbourne to Sydney. The countryside was beautiful. I followed the coast road, driving through a beautiful national park, visiting Narrabarba, Eden, Merimbula alog the way, and meeting some wonderful people. 

Now those places are burned to the ground. Half a billion creatures have been incinerated. Priceless, beautiful, wonderful forests have been destroyed. It is apocalyptic. I can't really seem to focus on the mundane when all around me the world is burning - literally and metaphorically. We are governed by people whose sanity I question (to the Trump, Johnson, Ford nexus you can now add Scott Morrison). I mean how fucking stupid do you have to be to not believe there is a correlation between climate change and the extent of these forest fires? It is almost willful stupidity. It is up there with that moron Trump who is incapable of telling the difference between the weather and climate. And these are the pricks who lead the "advanced western nations".

Truly, it feels as if we are in some sort of end game at the moment. And as I sit here, surrounded by my loved ones, all of us under the weather to various degrees, very little seems important other than our immediate survival. 

How do we change these things? How?

If I were in any way religious, I might just open the Book of Revelations and get some light relief.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.