Exercise in futility

When I was a football coach all those years ago, the way we described a striker who consistently failed to achieve the basic objectives of his trade - i.e., to put the ball into the net - was to say "he couldn't score in a brothel".

Now, of course, we live in gentler times. Were I still a coach, I'd ask about home life and sleeping habits, whether there were any worries that might be hindering goal scoring, or whether he'd perhaps walked under a ladder or tripped over a black cat. I would still, of course, be thinking that I was dealing with a player who couldn't hit the arse of a stationary donkey with a banjo.

These thought crossed my mind as I watched Liverpool play Newcastle this Wednesday afternoon. I had prepared the day perfectly: completed my writing assignment, dealt with the graphics people, sent off a snitty email... also not told Ottawacker Jr. about the game, so the effects of his Jonah-like jinx on Liverpool should not influence the result, as it so obviously did against West Brom in the previous encounter.

What a debacle. For while Mo Salah was the chief culprit of banjo failure, the whole team demonstrated clear inability to hit a barn door, to see a path towards an outhouse if it had red flags pointing the way, to hit the ground with their hats, to.... you get the picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.