Stokketjie

By Stokketjie

New Years Eve

Fireworks!! Thats all I can recall from Copenhagen on New Years Eve. That, and getting this perfectly lit photo of the little mermaid as I was trying to be inconspicuous and squeeze my way through the crowds with my bright helmet that I forgot to take off. Oops!
We hired bikes to see the city and there truly isn’t a better way to explore this bike friendly city. We saw all the top sights from the Zoological museum to the Opera House and even listened to the Danish queens new years speech from the palace where it was broadcast.
To get back to the fireworks though, people in Denmark, who generally seemed reserved and modest, go berserk with fireworks on every street corner over new years anytime of day and there is no system to when people fire them making for a very scary cycle home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.