Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

No tree in top 100 in Stirling area!!!

What to do when your suffering from man flu and your not fit enough to exercise but not I’ll enough to spend another day in bed? Keep hydrated and engage the mind was my answer. I was lucky enough to receive from Santa a selection box of Brodie’s teas and a copy of Roger, Stokes & Ogilvie’s : “Heritage Trees of Scotland”. So it was an afternoon and evening of drinking different teas and agreeing/disagreeing with the selection of the 100 trees featured in the book.
Whilst I could see the case for the selection of most I still think that some of the trees in my local area (Bridge of Allan, University of Stirling Campus and Stirling) are just as deserving as some that made the top 100. I also think that the inclusion of only one fruit tree in the 100 seems to underplay their importance in Scotland’s heritage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.