South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Distant pier

Son was doing sound check for the church band for a second week running (as family emergency had prevented the only other person available from doing it). So Stuart and I went for another walk down to Bognor beach, this time walking east towards the pier, which you can see in the distance in the photo. I had taken my camera, but the weather was too rainy to use it, so I resorted to my phone again! We walked up one of the few roads that still has 18th century houses in it, which is when Bognor (or Hothamton as it was called then) was first developed from a small fishing village into a holiday town for the gentry by Sir Richard Hotham. His large house still remains in Hotham Park - which was once his garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.