Lel

By Lel

Bring him home!

This picture has pride of place in our house. It was taken on the occasion of the queens 90th birthday. It was featured on the front page of the guardian newspaper and the soldier is my nephew Mathew (Matty)
A couple of months earlier he and his fellow guards presented their company colours to the Queen at the trooping of the colour parade.

Today he is in Iraq. He is part of the US led coalition force out there. The situation has escalated to the point that most of the coalition forces fled the camp early this morning.
Matty and his colleagues are waiting to be evacuated to the British embassy in Baghdad in order to get to safety and if necessary, defend the embassy.

He managed a quick call to tell me that they are waiting to get to safety, I could hear gun fire in the background. He said there are Shia Militia about 5 miles away and they chased off a group of them while out on patrol. They caught them digging holes to plant IED’s
The camp also has a prison housing over 200 isis terrorists. If they were to escape or be set free then the situation will become way more serious.

12 weeks ago I lost my sister, Matty’s mum. I cannot lose this boy, not now. He has a wife, a son and a family who love and need him.

He said he will try and let me know when they are being evacuated. So we sit and wait. We watch the news and check the news sites for any info. It is an anxious time waiting to see if they can get to the embassy in Baghdad.

This is the reality of War, Trumps war. A stupid, pointless sickening excercise in ego. I have no words.

I need our boy home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.