MumOf4Wildlings

By MumOf4Wildlings

The fighter

All my wildlings slept great last night. Myself however did not. I dreamt about giving birth to the second biggest.

We are so very lucky to have this chap. It took four day's of being induced for him to come, but in the end he came way to fast. And I knew something was wrong the minute they placed him on me. He was snorting like a little pig and got worse. The rushed him to ICU in neonatal. I got to see him there. They told me to go back and have a sleep and I could see him when I woke.
I went through a couple hours later and he was hooked up to this machine. The CPAP. I got such a shock.
The above photo was when he was 7days old. He spent 12 day's in neonatal. The first week was the worst. The doctor showed us a x-ray of his lung's and it was like looking into a starry night sky. He had RDS. Respiratory distress syndrome. And it really was touch and go the first few days. I spent every hour I could with him. He would start gasping for air even on this machine and the nurses would draw at least 60ml of fluid from his lung's each time. He wouldn't even let us touch him as it was too much. They wanted to put him in a induced coma and transfer him to Glasgow. Thankfully after 5days his oxygen levels were getting better.
We both got to have a proper hold of him after a week. Just to have him on me was the best feeling in the world. Even if it was for only 5minutes. He was a fighter.
We spent 18 day's in hospital.
I am thankful for all my wildlings but so so thankful that he got to come home with us.

Now this chap is a thriving 3year old, he has such a strong personality and a fighting spirit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.