My Number One Bird

The black fantail has visited my garden almost daily for about 17 months. This is unusual because, for one thing, black fantails make up around 4% of the fantail population in the South Island, and for another, until last winter no fantail had stuck around for more than 3 or 4 weeks spring and autumn on their way to somewhere else. Furthermore, fantails are short-lived, maybe not much more than a year. With all this can you blame me for being totally delighted each time I see it. And when we meet it often darts about me very close, so that all I see is a dark streak. Today it buzzed me when I had a camera. There was no time for checking settings. Just one quick click and it was on the move again. The fanned tail is not quite fully open.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.