The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Shelduck sunset

In the dip at Far Arnside, there was a small flock of shelducks dabbling the Morecambe Bay mud for the tiny Hydrobia molluscs they favour. Only an hour before, the weather was unpromisingly cloudy and wet, but then as forecast, there was a clearance and the sun descended from the cloud to illuminate the layered bay.  It took some manoeuvring down the cliff grassland and through ripping brambles to get the shelducks in the light of the setting sun, it was just as well I had left Gus sleeping off his lunchtime walk.  It looks calm enough in this shot, but there was a blasting wind coming off the Irish Sea, which made handling Big Len challenging as I experimented in using it for something more than the usual bird close-ups.

A busy day, I had to be up early to bake the day's bread and take Gus for his morning walk over the Knott before my first chauffeur and gopher role of the year for Wifie's morning Tai Chi class. I was still feeling the benefit of that after lunch when a mysterious tummy upset afflicted me suddenly and violently. I've no idea what caused that as we've eaten nothing unusual in the last 24 hours, and the effect was soon gone, or else I never would have risked stumbling about on the cliff top a couple of hours later.

The forecast for tomorrow is violently windy, hopefully that means the weather and not anything else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.