On inshore rocks, not a reef

Today, we travelled north from Grey Lynn to Snells Beach to spend the rest of the Tsukens’ holiday in the beachhouse. After being a bit slow in leaving S and I were crossing the harbour bridge when I realised that I had left behind an essential bag. Off at the first offramp, and looped around to recross the bridge and back to the apartment, from where I collected the offending bag, and we restarted the trip.

On arrival we were greeted by Tsuken and told that there was a water leak into the ensuite bathroom of the downstairs bedroom. Called the plumbers and arranged an urgent visit. Rather grumpily, I went down to the water (sea) while waiting for the plumber to come and sort out the water (leaking pipe).

My mood improved very quickly. As I emerged from the bottom of the stairs down to the gravel shore, I saw a kotare on the rocks where more often than not one sits. (1) Then, my attention was caught by a commotion out in the bay, and I realised it was a Takapu (Australasian gannet), and I got a slightly soft photograph of it running on the water as it took to the air again. (2) I was also able to get a number of shots of it while flying.

In the distance I could see a shag on their rocks. In the process of getting to a position where the angle was best, I saw  further around the point was what appeared to be (and was) a Matuku moana (a Reef heron). I haven’t seen one for a few years now; they are solitary and low in numbers (endangered) in New Zealand. My best photo of it is today’s blip. (3) Turned around and got close enough for a reasonable photo of the Kawau paka (Little pied shag). (4)

A bit further on was the large rocky expanse which is usually almost completely covered at high tide, but the rest of the time provides the Variable oystercatchers with a place to sit together. Despite their noise and a bit of hopping about, they were cooperative photographer’s models. (5) The takapu was still circling and wheeling down to the water but mostly too far away for my lens.

Walking along Fidelis beach (also known as Our beach by us and also other frequent users) I was able to get a good clear photo of a Tarapunga (Red-billed gull). (6) On around the promontory at the south end of Fidelis beach to Algies Bay, and then up the steps to Highfield Reserve. Half way up I went across to the Donkey paddocks, where there are usually ducks to be seen. And there were today. Firstly a mallard duck or three, and then subsequently a group of Parera; probably hybrids with the mallards. (7 & 8) In the same area I got a good photo of a blackbird on the other side of a fence. (9)

Back to the path through bush where glimpses of three Piwakawaka (fantails) enticed a couple of hopeful but hopeless shots. Then I was greeted by two Tui, one of which darted away at full speed while the other gave me a song and dance routine, possible to keep me away from the nest, where the other may have gone. While never perfectly placed, a reasonable initial photo for the year was gained. (10) When I reached the park like are at the top of the hill, I was greeted by a group of Welcome swallows, one of which was slow enough in its flight for a silhouette. (11)

In a single bird watching walk, I doubled the number of species I’ve photographed this year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.