Reflections of Te Mata saleyards

The other day, I gave an opinion that the saleyards at Te Mata had fallen into disuse. Looking again, as I jogged past, I realised that the twine (which was tied to fences, rails and posts in a seeming randome fashion) was not that old. Also tied to parts of the saleyards were a couple of shoes; not a pair, somehow they had got picked up and tied to a post .

It must have rained heavily overnight, to fill the puddle in front of the loading ramps.

I hadn't long been back from the jog, when I heard the calls of  the Masked Lapwings, and then watched them land on top of the bank behind the house.

Later this morning we drove back to Auckland, where will stay in the apartment and head north tomorrow to the beach house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.