Swabian Onion Bowl and Iron City Salad

There comes a time when a girl must go to lunch, and this was such a day. The venue was Olde New York, I was in the company of dear, old friends, and I was starving (which is my usual state in winter time).

Fortunately, they had just what I needed: hot soup and a salad. I ordered a crock of French onion soup (they call it "Swabian onion bowl" here), baked with crostini, brandy, and Swiss cheese.

The salad is called an iron city salad (in honor of Pittsburgh, of course, the "iron city"): mixed greens with an assortment of vegetables, fries, and cheddar cheese, with a choice of dressing (I picked ranch). Those golden, crispy fries really made it delightful, I must say. 

NOM!!!

The soundtrack song is a silly one, from a country artist. Here is Tim McGraw, with Do You Want Fries With That?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.