Young Lovers in a Penn State Snowstorm

Our weather, which had been sort of mild earlier in the week, took a wintry turn on Tuesday. Snow began around lunchtime and continued through the afternoon before moving off to the east.

I was fortunate to be on campus late in the afternoon, with camera, and it was absolutely delightful. Every branch of every tree was dipped in angel dust. At every turn, there was a scene straight out of a Currier & Ives print.

Conditions were challenging at times for photography, but I had a grand time in what little time I had available. I walked around as far and as fast as I could, given my constraints, taking pictures of some of my favorite scenes, covered in winter's special magic.

The photograph above is a touching scene I witnessed below Old Main. A pair of young lovers were walking arm in arm, and then they stopped in the middle of the sidewalk and turned and faced each other.

Did they exchange a kiss? Or words of love? It sure looked like it to me. Snow brings out the romantic in some people; wouldn't it be nice if he chose this moment to propose? (And in my heart of hearts, I wondered: is this the next chapter of the story about the lovers who finally met?)

In other news, the Nittany Lion shrine, depicting Penn State's famous mascot, was also looking lovely in a light dusting of snow. You may see the Lion in the extras with West Halls in the background.

The soundtrack song is the Doors, with Wintertime Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.