Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A beautiful morning in the woods

The plumber came back to day to finish the job. It does sound strange that a new house should have a leak in the pipe but he explained to me that the small leak occurred at a join where two pipes were solded and it had been like that ever since the house was built, but it was not initially noticed due to all the lagging covering the pipes. He assured me that the workmanship of everything else was excellent, and apparently a tiny leak like this can often occur - at least he did not slag off the plumber who originally did the work, as I find workmen often do, they like to blame the workmen before them. 

A bit of drama ensued as he warned me that the smoke alarm may go off as he had to solder more pipes and despite covering the smoke alarm, it did go off. I was at the supermarket buying groceries when I got the call from the alarm monitoring company to say that the fire brigade had been dispatched - I requested they stand down but apparently they are obliged to come. So when I got home there was a huge fire truck blocking our narrow road and the neighbours were outside wondering what was going on - Tommy was inside desperately trying to switch the alarm off and the poor plumber was looking helpless. Anyway, no harm done, the fire department guys were fantastic and did not mind coming out and I apologised profusely for wasting their time. I managed to then get the smoke alarm to be placed on test mode (so no response required) until the end of the day so the plumber could finish his work. It's all done now and I have cleaned up and everything is good as new.

Before all that chaos, I had a peaceful walk in the woods with Xena when I took this photo. The light in the woods is really lovely now, I have noticed an improvement since December.

Other than that I have listed a camera bag to sell on E-Bay and Gum Tree and zero interest so far!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.